olycen Buy — $129

← Compare

ShotPut Pro alternative for Mac

Checked on against the vendors' public pages.

ShotPut Pro is the long-standing, familiar offloader, and plenty of crews have never had a reason to leave it. People look at alternatives for two reasons: what the licence costs over time, and wanting more of the DIT chain (proxies, dailies, delivery) in one app.

ShotPut Pro vs Olycen at a glance

OlycenShotPut Pro
Price$129 once, two Macs, 14-day full trial$169 perpetual; 30-day rental $60
UpdatesFree minor updates, optional $59 major upgradeUpdates after the first 12 months need Extended Update Coverage, $59 per licence per year
ActivationLicence is a signed file; activation and checks work offlineInternet access required for activation; single-computer licence
ChecksumsxxHash (XXH3, XXH64), MD5, SHA-256, C4xxHash64 by default; xxHash3 and C4 listed in the release notes
ASC MHLASC MHL v2, written and re-verifiableYes (ASC MHL seals)
ReportsPDF, CSV and ALEPDF, TXT and CSV
Proxies and dailiesProxies and LUT dailies after verificationnot stated on the product page
DeliveryS3-compatible, SFTP and shuttle drivesUpload monitoring for Google Drive, iCloud and Dropbox
PlatformmacOS 13+, Apple Silicon and IntelmacOS (Intel and Apple silicon)

Sources: ShotPut Pro for Mac, Imagine Products. "Not stated" means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing. Vendors change prices often; check theirs before you decide.

Who should pick which

Stay with ShotPut Pro if

  • You already trust it and your workflow, presets and muscle memory are built around it. Switching costs are real, and an offload tool is the worst place to experiment mid-job.
  • Its release history is long, with a track record on feature films that a 2026 newcomer cannot match.

Pick Olycen if

  • Total cost: $129 once includes two Macs and works offline, with no yearly update fee to keep getting new versions.
  • ALE reports, proxies, LUT dailies and S3/SFTP delivery in the same app.
  • A card is only offered for formatting when every file is verified on at least two physical devices.

Switching: what to expect

  • Nothing to export: your footage and the MHL/PDF reports ShotPut wrote stay where they are and stay readable.
  • Run the free trial next to ShotPut on a real card and compare the checksums it reports. If they ever disagree, that is the most useful thing you can send us.
  • Point Olycen at the same destination drives. Reel names come from the camera, so the folder structure on your drives stays familiar.

Try it on a real card, next to ShotPut Pro.

$129 once, two Macs, no subscription, and a full 14-day trial. Run it beside what you use now and compare the checksums.